Soho Horror Film Festival

There appears to be cautious optimism in the air, due in part to further easing of restrictions. Places are reopening and people are starting to embrace something a little closer to normality, unless of course like me you live in the centre of Glasgow where we’re still awaiting a date for cinemas to reopen and to be able to have a drink indoors.. (beer gardens in Glasgow are always a gamble, even in the height of summer). 

Lets be honest – for the most part, lockdown has absolutely sucked. Even the most resilient of people began to feel the strain as restrictions were stretched out seemingly indefinitely and I for one am incredibly thankful that I can at least go to the gym again, because currently very little fits me other than pyjamas and stretchy pants. It has been difficult some days to paint on a smile and carry on but there have definitely been some unexpected positives that have come out of the sheer shit-show of the last year or so – and for me one such positive was getting to enjoy the Soho Horror Festival.

Prior to lockdown I had only ever attended film events and festivals locally, with vague plans to travel further afield usually thwarted by factors such as my disastrous financial management and crippling fear of being a weirdo loner with nae pals.

I can’t even remember how I stumbled upon Soho Horror Fest initially, but I am so glad I did. I have virtually attended a number of events since then, hosted by the lovely (and insanely hard working) Mitch Harrod, and it has been a wonderful opportunity to get involved in something I may not have considered an option previously.

Not only has Mitch organised a number of online events during lockdown featuring some truly incredible films, the social aspect of the events have been a real bonus and I’m really lucky to have met some wonderful, like minded people from near and far. 

The most recent event – ‘Shockdown Saturdays’ – ran for an insane 12 weeks, each week delivering some new and exciting features and shorts. Whilst I missed a few evenings, I attended as often as I could (and drank far too much on more than one occasion.. oops) and was consistently impressed by the variety and standard of film on offer – not to mention the immense ethic and passion displayed by Mitch in organising everything so seamlessly. 

There were so many great films with a range of sub genres and explored over the weeks so there was truly something for everyone.

Some of my personal stand outs include Robert Woods’ ‘An Ideal Host’, Sam Ashurst’s ‘A Little More Flesh’ and from Matt Mercer and Mike Testin – ‘Dementia Part II’.

Along with the features, Shockdown Saturdays played a number of short films, thematically aligned to the features they proceeded. There were so many that really stood out, but I think my personal favourites..

Lili – Yfke Van Berckelaer [Lili is currently available to stream via Alter on YouTube]

The Three Men You Meet at Night – Beth Kitsis [Available on Beth’s Vimeo channel]

Ad Lib – Joseph Catte [A trailer for the short film is available on Joseph’s YouTube and Vimeo channel]

https://vimeo.com/josephcatte

And last – but definitely not least, the weird and wonderful :

Wererock – Chris Merrill

I’m hoping that now restrictions are easing I may be able to attend any future events in the flesh as opposed to virtually – but that’s not to take anything away from how fantastic the online festivals have been. A huge thank you to Mitch for all that he does and a big virtual squeeze to all the lovely folks I’ve met over the past however the hell long it has been.

Leave a comment